Feeling Thankful

It’s the week before Thanksgiving, and one of the things I’m most thankful for is that I was fortunate enough to be born in America.  I’m grateful I didn’t grow up in a war zone, and that I live in a country where I have freedoms that are such a part of me that I don’t even think about them.  I’m thankful I’m so blessed!

I don’t forget that my freedom was purchased by soldiers throughout the past 200+ years, and I’m thankful for that.  I’m thankful that I’m not forced to follow a religion I don’t believe in, that I can keep a gun if I want, that I can speak the truths that are important to me.

I’m thankful for each sacrifice made to keep me free.  I wish I could tell the men and women who paid dearly for this freedom of mine how grateful I am.  Since I can’t, I’ll simply send up a small prayer that their lives and that of their loved ones will be blessed as my life has been blessed.  I’m thankful for this feeling of gratitude.

Leave a Reply

