WHEN “THANK YOU” ISN’T ENOUGH

I recently read an article by a veteran who said that it wasn’t enough for people to just say thank you for serving.  I agree.  That wasn’t enough to do for those who have laid it all on the line in defense of freedom.  But, I wasn’t sure what else to do.

You see, I thought about that a lot and, while I agree that just saying thank you isn’t enough, I wasn’t sure what else I could do.  Then I realized that I really didn’t have to look too hard for the answer.   If freedom is what men and women are fighting to protect, then living free is the best way to show my gratitude.

When you see that little girl playing and she’s not living in fear that she’ll be beaten for speaking her mind, that’s living free. When that little boy can play outside without fear of being shot, that’s it too.   When any of us can speak up and say what we don’t like about our government and act to change things, that’s also living free.   That’s what else I can offer.

As each of us lives free in all that it entails, that is how we repay those who have fought for freedom, not by just saying “thank you.”  Yes, I’m tremendously grateful for each of you who have served, but I can best express that by living the life you paid for me to have.  I hope I never let you down!

Leave a Reply

