FIGHTING BACK: REFUSING TO BOW TO PTSD

One of the more common ways PTSD manifests itself is through isolation. People who have PTSD often cut themselves off from the rest of the world and refuse to participate in any kind of group activity. While that may help them feel safe, it’s sad because is just makes the isolation more intense.

I decided that even though I have been diagnosed with PTSD, I didn’t want to let it ruin my entire life. I mean by that, it’s bad enough that the things that lead to the PTSD happened. If I allow it to control my life now, then I’ve given it the power to continue to hurt me. It’s like carrying the past into the future and letting it rob you of your happiness.

If I face my fears and go out even though I don’t want to, then I get to enjoy the moment, the other people I’m with, and I begin to heal. I want to be able to enjoy my friends and make new ones. I want to have my life back. I’m not going to let PTSD rule me.

Am I afraid sometimes? Of course. But I’d rather live in the moment and be truly free than hide in the dark and be afraid of everyone for the rest of my life. I won’t carry my PTSD into my future if I can help it. I want a life; I’m a survivor, so I refuse to bow to the nightmares of the past. I want new memories, and I’ll work hard to make them happen.

One thought on “FIGHTING BACK: REFUSING TO BOW TO PTSD

  1. Knowing how bad PTSD-affected people can feel when they hit a low I found this the most inspiring post I have read since a long time. Keep strong and move on! Only that way you can win that battle. All the best.

Leave a Reply

