DE’JA’ VU

It can be very frustrating when you find you are making progress in learning to cope with your PTSD and then having life drop some new horror on you. It is depressing to think that I must revisit so much of the healing that I’ve done in the past in order to cope with this new trauma.  I find it very depressing to think that I’ve backslid in my progress…and, I guess more than anything, I don’t want to go through the hard work I went through before to get back to where I was.  It’s not fair.

Well, thank you for letting me whine. I guess the silver lining in this cloud is recognizing, first of all, that I can heal, and secondly that I have the tools already in my possession to make it happen.  And, I know my enemy now better than I ever have in the past.  I know I will have flashbacks, but I also know they’ll lessen over time.  I know I will have emotional pain to deal with, but it also won’t last forever.  I’ve been here before…and I’ve come through it.

I don’t want to be here. But, since I am, I can take a few moments to be thankful that I’m a survivor and know I’ll get through this latest trauma too.

One thought on “DE’JA’ VU

  1. Pingback: DE’JA’VU – Healing Veterans one step at a time

Leave a Reply

