PTSD AND DEPRESSION

Unfortunately, depression often goes hand-in-hand with PTSD.  Most of us who suffer from it understand exactly what is going on and it is depressing at times.  I realize I’m overly anxious and hypervigilant, but that doesn’t automatically mean I can just stop the behavior.  That does get depressing.  The problem is, getting depressed doesn’t help; it just means I now have two aspects to the problem, not just one!

Depression can be treated in a variety of ways though.  That’s the good news.  I have gone through treatment when I was younger, and I’m glad I did.  PTSD is bad enough to deal with on its’ own.  Add depression in and it gets overwhelming very quickly.  Treating the depression allowed me to focus on coping with the PTSD.

If you have a day or even a few days of feeling down, that’s not the kind of depression I’m talking about here.  I’m referring to the clinical variety where you go three months or longer feeling like you’re living under a cloud of doom.  Coping with PTSD can use up most of your energy to begin with.  Stir in a healthy dose of depression and things can become unbearable rather quickly.  It was worth getting some help with medication to deal with the depression so I could continue working on dealing with the PTSD.

Depression is often a part of PTSD.  By not responding to it and getting proper treatment, you’re extending the healing time in coping with your PTSD.  Take the time to get help for your depression when it seems to be getting overwhelming.  You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

