PTSD: GARBAGE IN/GARBAGE OUT

I’ve found, over the years, that it is beneficial for me to monitor what I’m watching on television or at the movies and limit programs that are billed as having a lot of violence in them.  I know the more violent the story, the more likely it is to negatively affect me and trigger my PTSD.  It’s just easier to stop and say, “It’s not worth it!”

Although many people enjoy action-packed dramas, knowing it’s a trigger means that it’s my responsibility to limit what I watch.  I’ve learned that seeing the movie often isn’t worth the trauma that comes after.  I tend to think of this as the “garbage in/garbage out” effect.  If I pour violent visual input into my brain, the output is going to be negative too.  It’s just not worth going through.

I think it’s easy in today’s society to just kind of let things happen, and use the television to anesthetize ourselves. We tend to get lazy in ensuring that what we’re taking in is worthwhile, or at least not toxic.  Television is a great escape, but it comes with a price: if you don’t monitor what you’re watching, you may well find your subjecting yourself to unnecessary content that simply inflames your PTSD.

Don’t allow yourself to become a victim of senseless violence.  Turn off the TV and find something more worthwhile to take in.  Garbage in/garbage out is controllable!

Leave a Reply

