Taking Note(s)

Writing about a problem can be helpful in several ways. First of all, journaling helps you clarify the facts about the issue. When you journal about the problem you are forced to put things into words an outside reader would understand. It helps you see the problem clearly.

In addition, writing about the problem may surprise you with some of the feelings you have concerning it that you haven’t otherwise consciously identified. When journaling about the frustrations of dealing with the insurance company after a recent fire at my home, I wrote that I was feeling like a victim (of the insurance company, not the fire). It was the first time I had identified that feeling to myself! It helped me see why I was feeling so frustrated and as though everything were out of control.

The process is simple. Write down your thoughts on the events in your life that aren’t going the way you want them to. Write down what happened, leaving out any personal thoughts or feelings on the situation. The next step is to take a look at how you feel about what happened. Finally, write possible solutions down and see if any are really possible.

Journaling or writing about whatever it is that is bothering you can help lessen your anxiety and help you feel less sad about the situation. Getting a clear perspective on the issues makes it easier to find solutions.

Leave a comment